

AUSTRALIAN GREYHOUND RAGING ASSOCIATION

MEDIA RELEASE



4th March 2013

Spud's A Gun: Dailly wins second Australian Cup

Super victory on biggest night at The Meadows for 2013

By George Farrugia

Spud Regis (\$3.00) gave the Dailly team their second Group 1 Maurice Blackburn Lawyers Australian Cup success after leading from go to whoa to score in a brilliant 29.63 in front of one of the biggest crowds seen at The Meadows.



Spud Regis races away with the Australian Cup (All Pics Clint Anderson)

AUSTRALIAN BREYHOUND BABINB ASSOBIATION

The son of Bombastic Shiraz and Phiona used his favourable box one draw to perfection, holding off El Brooklyn in the run to the first corner before extending his lead down the back straight, stopping the clock at a super 17.60 to the second section.

Spud Regis extended his lead in the run to the line, eventually running out a four and a quarter winner over El Brooklyn (\$5.10) in a sizzling 29.63. It was a race record and the fastest Cup win since the distance was changed to 525 in 2002. West Australian chaser Hot Irish (\$11.50) ran on very well for third, while Linden Magpie ran fourth.

Spud Regis – named after AFL legend Danny Frawley - improved his record to 13 wins from 24 starts, pushing his prizemoney to over \$397,000 thanks to the huge \$250,000 winner's cheque on the night.

The black chaser is owned by the Treloar Syndicate and recorded his second Group 1 victory after taking out the Adelaide Cup last year.

After the placed runners then followed: Linden Magpie (\$15.00), Oomoo (\$32.20), Cintiarna (\$8.40), Glen Gallon (\$5.10) and Hello Good Bye (\$6.80).

Spud Regis is a Black dog whelped December 2010 by Bombastic Shiraz from Phiona (Hot Chill x Iona Phantom). He is raced by the Treloar Syndicate and is trained at Anakie by the Dailly Team. He has now won 13 races and been placed on six occasions from his 24 starts. Adding the first prize money of \$250,000 for the Australian Cup his stake earnings went to \$397,380.

The Australian Cup was first run in 1958 at North Melbourne the M.G.R.A.'s first home then moved with the club to Olympic Park becoming the famous race it is today when promoted with flair and style by the late Ken Carr the club astute manager for many years. When Olympic closed the club flagship event was conducted at Sandown while the club established its new home at the Meadows. It has been conducted at the new complex since it opened in 1999. Listed below is the classic honour roll of the past winners that have won this mighty race.

1958 Rookie Rebel, 1959 Rocky Ros, 1960 Meadow Vale 1961 Copeland, 1962 Take A Bow, 1963 "Not Held", 1964 Old Tops, 1965 Worthing, 1966 Billy Vee, 1967 Fawn Nulla, 1968 Swanston Lass, 1969 Benjamin John, 1970 The Smoother, 1971 Black Diro, 1972 Blackamoor Lad, 1973 Half Your Luck, 1974 Kim's Monaro, 1975 Ungwilla Lad, 1976 Odious, 1977 Listowel Sue, 1978 Count D'Argent, 1979 Boundless, 1980 Tangaloa, 1981 Pete's Advice, 1982 Royal Rumpus, 1983 Drop Of Wine, 1984 Tangairn, 1985 Eaglehawk Star, 1986 Bright Judge, 1987 Regal Post, 1988 Golden Blessing, 1989 Ginger, 1990 Spread Eagled, 1991 Franklin Deano, 1992 China Trip, 1993 China Trip, 1994 Mancunian Girl, 1995 Bonjase, 1996 Tenthill Doll, 1997 Smooth Rumble, 1998 Fibba, 1999 Mandatario, 2000 Arvo's Express, 2001 Brett Lee, 2002 Isa Brown, 2003 Most Awesome / Blackjack Tom D/H, 2004 Bogie Leigh 2005 Pure Octane, 2006 Miss Spicy, 2007 Pete's Conquest, 2008 Tasman Queen, 2009 Velocette, 2010 Dyna Lachlan, 2011 St.Pierre and 2012 Zara Zulu.

Destini Complete: Back to Back Group 1's for Fireball

Rinaldi's star remains unbeaten over distance trip at The Meadows

By George Farrugia

Destini Fireball (\$2.00) made it six wins from six starts over the 725 metres at The Meadows with a brilliant last gasp victory in the Group 1 Macro Meats Superstayers in front of a huge crowd.

The son of Where's Pedro and Greys Destiny was outpaced early on, with Xylia Allen taking a handy lead in front of the looming Irma Bale and Proven Impala. With Destini Fireball fourth, Irma Bale and Proven Impala ranged up to the tearaway leader with winning chances aplenty as they turned for home. Shifting to the outside, Destini Fireball finally looked the winner, striding to victory in the last bound to win back-to-back Group 1s at The Meadows and the third of his career.

The white and black chaser defeated Irma Bale (\$7.90) by a nose in 42.73, recording his 17th win from just 31 starts. Mission Complete (\$29.60) finished third.

Owned and trained by Norm Rinaldi, Destini Fireball has now won \$343,245 in prizemoney. He has now won 11 of his last 12 starts, including six consecutive victories over the 725 metre-trip at The Meadows.

The night also saw the running the Cosmic Chief Vic Breeders it was taken out by Dirty Rich for owner Allan Lie and trainer Sam Bonaccurso.

After the placed runners then followed: Proven Impala (\$5.20), Erica Allen (\$34.80), Double Jeopardy (\$34.20), Xylia Allen (\$4.80) and Lektra Scarlett (\$14.40).

Destini Fireball is raced and trained by Norm Rinaldi, he is a White and Black dog whelped March 2010 by Where's Pedro from Grey's Destini (Kiowa Sweet Trey x Greys Nose Dive). Destini Fireball has won 17 of his 31 starts and has been placed on six occasions and with the \$100,000 first prize for the Superstayers it took his current stake earnings to \$343,245.

Listed below are the past winners of the renamed Group 1 feature the Macro Meats Super Stayers. In recent years the race has been known as the Australian Super Stayers and the Gleeson & Tonta Trophy. First run at Olympic Park in 1978 the staying feature had stood the test time. This year the race was sponsored for the third time by Macro Meats who have become involved with a number of high profile events at both metropolitan tracks in Victoria.

1978 King's Domain, 1979 Misty Fabric, 1980 Sue's Repeat, 1981 Parachute Luck, 1982 Mira Donna, 1983 Dark Harlequin, 1984 Tesoro Mio, 1985 Planosec, 1986 Bay Supreme, 1987 Mystic Hope, 1988 Magic Lightning, 1989 High Flight, 1990 Pebbles' Beach, 1991 Modern Express, 1992 Saltwater Sid, 1993 Gold Roulette, 1994 "Not Held", 1995 Just Barby, 1996 City Blitz, 1997 Nowhere To Go, 1998 Ringside Fire, 1999 Moe's Tavern, 2000 Sunblest Kid, 2001 Proven Dreams, 2002 Boomeroo, 2003 Oh Behave, 2004 Skipper Rip, 2005 Malfoy, 2006 Quidame, 2007 Flashing Floods, 2008 Just Friends, 2009 Lilley Criminal, 2010 Drill 'Em, 2011 Bobby Boucheau and 2012 Thrilling Brat.

The Macro Meats Superstayers final and the Group 1 Maurice Blackburn Lawyers Australian Cup capped off an amazing three weeks of racing at The Meadows. In excess of over \$1,000,000 in prizemoney was won in another outstanding carnival.



Destini Fireball just gets up to win the Superstayers

Thanks for information supplied By George Farrugia M.G.R.A Publicity Officer

For more information please contact:

Neil Brown AGRA Publicity Officer Tel: 03 97691234

Mob: 0423 129 950 nbrown@agra.com.au Howard Ashton AGRA Executive Officer Tel: 08 8243 7100

Mob: 0438 042 838 hashton@agra.com.au